Potential candidates from Kerala for Lok Sabha elections

Potential candidates from Kerala for Lok Sabha elections

Thiruvananthapuram (Uttam Hindu News): With just a few months left for the Lok Sabha elections, there is speculation that several political bigwigs may contest from the coastal state. Here is the list of candidates from various political parties who are likely to contest the Lok Sabha elections from Kerala.

There are rumors that Prime Minister Narendra Modi may contest from Thrissur constituency, while other senior BJP leaders Nirmala Sitharaman, S. Jaishankar, V. Muraleedharan and Rajiv Chandrashekhar can also contest elections from Kerala.

For Lok Sabha 2024, the CPI-M-led Left party is fielding two-time former finance minister Thomas Isaac; A.K. Balan, P.K. Shrimathi; K.K. Shailaja, Kadakampally Surendran, K. Is considering giving tickets to Radhakrishnan and Raju Abraham.

Reportedly, Congress has finalized the names of at least 13 constituencies, all of whom are sitting MPs.

The Congress is yet to finalize the name of the candidate for Kannur constituency and Alappuzha, which they lost in 2019.

There are also rumors that former CPI Chief Secretary K. Jayakumar can be fielded from Thiruvananthapuram constituency. However, the seat is currently held by Congress’ Shashi Tharoor, who is aiming for his fourth consecutive win.

From Thrissur, two former CPI state ministers K.P. Rajendran and V.S. Is considering fielding Sunil Kumar.

There are 20 Lok Sabha seats in this coastal state. In the 2019 general election, the Congress-led UDF won 19 seats, while the CPI-M won one seat.

The BJP finished second in the Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha seat and slipped to third place in the remaining seats across the state.

In 2019, the Congress had fielded candidates on 15 seats in the Congress-led UDF, IUML had fielded four candidates and RSP one. Similarly, on the CPI-M-led Left side, CPI-M had fielded candidates on 15 seats and CPI on four seats, while Kerala Congress (M) had fielded only one candidate.


This news article has been translated from the original language to English by WorldsNewsNow.com.

You can visit the original source at the link below.

Original Source Link